HOLIDAYS!!!!

Well, it’s almost that time again – the end of term is only days away and the combined delight and exhaustion of teachers and students alike is almost palpable.

Last school holidays saw me head off to Montreal International Jazz Festival, then Cuba for some conga lessons and Ritmo Mozambique, followed by heaps of culture in New York City, ending with the Katy Perry concert at Madison Square Garden.

The trip was so inspiring for me.  To hear music at such an elite level gave me so much joy and reminded me of what is possible with music.
These holidays, however, are almost completely devoid of music.  A few days up the coast with the children, an afternoon at a city spa, and catching up with friends are on the agenda.

The only musical adventure will be my first proper carillon lesson on Sydney University’s Carillon.

I continue to love developing my craft as well as exploring new ways to express music, so I’m sure that this will inspire me and hopefully in turn I will be able to inspire my students.  I’m sure it will also be helpful to be reminded of how it feels to be a beginner again.

 

I look forward to reporting back, but in the meantime, Happy Holidays!

Leave a comment