Back to the beginning: Part 2

Well, it is a fabulous experience to once again be a beginner.

I am fortunate that since I am a Pipe Organist, playing on a pedal-board with my feet is not unusual.  However, to play with my fists instead of my finger tips is a new experience.
What is a surprise, however, is how many things I do which so drive me to distraction when my own students do them!

  • I play much faster than necessary (to show off to my teacher)
  • As soon as my teacher says “Good,” I stumble and make a mistake
  • I attempt to do more than my skills allow

After writing this blog for several years, in an effort to communicate simple truths about practice and preparation, I am humbled to realise that as a beginner, I am falling into such similar patterns as my students.

AND I SHOULD KNOW BETTER!

I KNOW that 15 minutes’ practice daily is more useful than 1 hour’s practice the day before the lesson, and yet that is exactly what I do.  (In my defence, though, may I point out that my instrument only exists in one place in Sydney, so there is a travel requirement!)

 

It is helpful to go through this experience on my journey, as it helps me to understand life from the stool, and hopefully will once again give me more patience when students exhibit any of these tendencies.

Leave a Reply

